diy: reclaimed book cardholder

It’s Monday again! Yaaaayy. But that means it is time for another DIY so, YAY!

Today I am going to share a super easy card holder. I made this is in a panic for my first craft show. I decided I Really Really needed an awesome business card holder/display, but I didn’t have much time or the funds for a fancy one. So, I made one. It only took me about 30 minutes to make, and it has since been an awesome Christmas card holder, mail organizer, and it very well maybe a Valentine holder in the near future.

Here’s how you do it…

There you have it. It is actually really easy to do, and I bet if the book you used was a hardback you could skip the wood base altogether.

Have a great one and I will be back tomorrow.

also, check out my Facebook page. I would love to be your friend!

all tape and starburst clipart is from puglypixel.
28 Comments

Filed under DIY, Inspiration, Photos, Recommendations, techniques

28 responses to “diy: reclaimed book cardholder

  1. Oh, wow…this is definitely going to be my business card display at my next craft sale.

  2. What a cool idea! Simple, cheap and elegant – my kind of project :)

  3. This is so cool! What an awesome idea!

  4. Gilliauna

    I have my very first craft show in two weeks and I’m so doing this for the show! Thanks so much! *Smile* I was just wondering earlier today how I was going to manage that part of things.

    Gilliauna

  5. Thanks everybody! And best of luck with your Craft Show, Gilliauna!

  6. Pingback: my little corner of the web | Life and Art of Andrea Rodgers

  7. Pingback: w.i.p.: new work in progress | Life and Art of Andrea Rodgers

  8. Hi andrea,

    I’m just trying out your project right now, but i’m having some trouble…
    The pieces of the book break at the spine because the book gets twice as big.
    I used a paperback novel, did you use a hardback or something?

    Thank you by the way, it’s a really cool idea!

    • it’s solved already…
      first time I used a completly glued paperback…
      But now i tried it with a sown and glued paperback book and that does work…

      I’ve already made three :)

      • I had a similar problem when I tried making one with an old paperback and the glue had pretty much disintegrated . Pages fell out and the spine broke in half. It wasn’t pretty.
        The one pictured is a glued paperback. Maybe the book had been used enough to make the spine flexible…But it worked out just fine for me.

        But I am happy you figured it out and made 3 already! They can be pretty addicting :)

  9. Last weekend, I was at an antique show that had some beautiful folded page art. I showed pictures on my blog and said I’d love to see a tutorial- and viola- I found you via Cafe Cartolina.

    Thanks for the instructions- I already have a book picked out.

  10. Pingback: diy: bibliophile’s party shoes | Life and Art of Andrea Rodgers

  11. That is very elegant. Great idea!

  12. I love that! I might cry folding book pages like that, though… Surely I can find at least one book I can bear to do this with. Great idea!

  13. Pingback: diy: bibliophile’s party shoes | marketing internetowy i inne

  14. Pingback: diy: bibliophile’s party shoes | Ink n' it a community for Writers

  15. What a cool idea! It looks neat…but it’d be so hard to find a book to destroy. Maybe some sad thing from Goodwill or something. :)

  16. Pingback: Wordplay » Blog Archive » Craftgawker!

  17. Pingback: Project 18 Week 21 – Folded Book Business Card Holder | the 3 R's blog

  18. I came across these a while back. I have always disliked just putting my card in my pots on the table at a sale. This idea rocks. Just made on the other day, will be taking it for a spin next weekend at a sale.
    Thanks!
    Sally Anne

  19. I stumbled on this today and HAD to make one right now. I think it would be great for Christmas cards on my front table. I went to my book closet and started poking around. You mentioned that a hard back might sit flat, so I chose one of those. It was my Dr. Phil weight loss book – since I haven’t looked at that book since 10 diets ago, I figured it was a great one to use – not to mention it had a red cover which is perfect for Christmas. I’ll blog about it tomorrow or Monday and link back. Oh and the hardcover book lays perfectly flat. Awesome!

    Thanks!

  20. I have made three and use them to display rings and jewelry at my craft shows! I have gotten so many compliments on this unique idea that I just wanted to say Thank you for the inspiration!
    Lisa

  21. Pingback: Bücher-Recycling! | Blog der Stadt- und Schulbücherei Lauenburg

  22. Pingback: Alte Bücher – neue Ideen! | Blog der Stadt- und Schulbücherei Lauenburg

Leave a Reply

